i am here

Welcome to my home. I secretly live here forever, even though I walk and talk elsewhere. Be careful it’s fragile.

That’s the thing about living like this; it becomes so intentional that every piece is a keystone. When the pieces go away, you only have the air that was around it, that the people breathed even before they were like that. You are a shell of everything taken away with them, and what you left here. You know how it is.

Sometimes, accidentally, I am the part of me that’s still here. It’s hard to leave.

Being alone ≠ being lonely, but often it’s less joyful. Less playful. Where do I go?

What do I do with regret? I don’t know where to put it, so right now its just fermenting.

Here, take it. Take the sadness too; it’s making a mess because it doesn’t fit here.

Take your social constructs & technology & distraction & busywork & chaos.

This is enough. For me, this could always be enough.

i wake up in a poem

-Nayyirah Waheed

2 thoughts on “i am here

What do you think?

