What Really Matters

I was unsure about leaving school for this weekend trip- I would miss class on Friday and have only one night to get all my work done. Honestly, I was scared of getting out of balance, losing control of my workload and then getting really stressed about it. So I went back and forth: risky but beautiful island adventure or safe, uneventful everyday life?

But in the end, after all the contemplation, all I could think about on the bus ride back to school was what a great decision it was to go on the trip. We went kayaking, hiked to the peaks of Santa Cruz mountain, played frisbee, and took a thousand pictures.

Yes, I was trying to catch-up the rest of the week. As I predicted, it was stressful. It sucked. But we made memories on that trip. One of my teachers, encouraging me to go, asked “in the end, what will you remember? Because that’s what really matters.”

I know I’ll continue to have opportunities like this the rest of my life, where I have to chose whether or not to step out of my comfort zone. I’m going to look back on this trip and remember that homework doesn’t always have to come first.

Will it always be worth it? I don’t know. But what I do know, is that the only way to find out will be to go on more adventures.

 

One thought on “What Really Matters

What do you think?

