Struggling and Romping

I’m in LA for the state science fair again! Yesterday I went to dim sum and some gardens with a friend, where we *rebelliously* climbed trees and apparently took lots of pictures of each other. Emma would love it if I wrote about romping through rose gardens, but unfortunately for her, I would like to mention something else: struggle.

I struggle all the time. I’m struggling with writing this blog post, I struggled with homework a few minutes ago, I struggled with climbing said tree yesterday, I struggle with saving the orangutans. But struggle is universal- young children, middle aged men, old women, people around the world, everyone struggles. This means that people can bond over struggling, but it also can be an issue. Whose struggle is more important? How can I help others with their struggles when I have my own? Which struggles should our country be most focused on? And are my struggles valid in light of much larger issues and more challenging personal ones around the world? I don’t know how to answer most of these, but I do know that there are many global issues that seem very far away and unimportant among the personal struggles we encounter every day.

Tomorrow I will be talking about my mathematical modeling to predict the effects of a recent policy on the sustainability of orangutan populations at the state science fair. Borneo is 13,290 km away from here, but the problems there- deforestation, mostly conversion of land to palm oil plantations- are affecting the whole world. Indonesia is the third largest emitter of greenhouse gasses, which means deforestation doesn’t just threaten the orangutans, it’s every single one of us too. This is an that seems far away but it is crucial that we recognize it along with our everyday struggles because it has the potential to have such a huge impact on our future. Tomorrow I will do my best to share my findings and spread the word about this issue, and I hope you will take a minute to talk or at least think about this, or another problem outside of yourself. Together we can make the world a better place.

 

3 thoughts on “Struggling and Romping

  1. Yes, we do all see struggle in our own, unique vision of the world we live in. For some, a struggle can be finding water. Others struggle to get through the next math test. Sometimes, our individual torment expands to include our family or our village – each of us knowing the sense of the struggle while needing to rely on the vision, persistence and compassion of another.
    Struggle is the fuel of progress. You ask whose struggle is more important – is this the right question? Or… who has the capacity to take this struggle ? Today you will change the trajectory of our world. Your struggle moves us; it shapes our understanding; it provides light in a dark hall, and reframes our understanding of tomorrow.
    Walk tall Criquet – tomorrow awaits.

  2. “many global issues that seem very far away and unimportant among the personal struggles we encounter every day” — I think when people are overwhelmed and “in reaction” we have a very hard time focusing beyond the immediate and present. This is a struggle of struggle — because our individual, personal, urgent struggles will get harder and harder if we’re unable to maintain energy & attention to the global issues.

What do you think?

