The Solution

Just had an amazing week at the 2014 Three Dot Dash Just Peace Summit! I had no idea what I was getting into when I arrived at the Affinia Manhattan to meet 29 other Global Teen Leaders, but what followed was a busy week of not just working on our projects, but also learning how to be peacemakers. We are family, peace is possible. I’m so grateful for this experience and excited for the year to come- working with my mentor and the rest of the WAFF family to make Jungleheroes the best it can be, and staying connected with my Three Dot Dash brothers and sisters.

In Borneo I saw baby orangutans that cry at night because they lost their mothers. But deforestation in Borneo doesn’t just affect the orangutans, it affects the whole world. In the past 60 years, Borneo has lost half of its rainforest, making Indonesia the third largest emitter of greenhouse gasses. Jungleheroes has given over 7000 kids a purpose through the conservation of the rainforest and orangutans.

When I was a kid, I felt like I didn’t have a purpose. But when I was 10 years old I traveled to Borneo and saw kilometers of palm oil plantations in place of rainforest. I knew I needed to do something, so I started Jungleheroes.

I was part of the problem, but now I’m part of the solution. Jungleheroes inspires other kids to be part of the solution as well.

Learn more about my project at the Jungleheroes website or Facebook page.

10 thoughts on “The Solution

  1. Emma;
    What a challenge and one I know you are up to, broadening your horizons, sharing your passion and leaving your mark.
    Love always

What do you think?

