The Art Factory

You know those places that just inspire you to create as soon as you walk in the door? Well, The Art Factory is one of them. I have many fond memories of sitting inside on one of the high stools in the middle of the checked floor, quietly painting or drawing until a knock came on the yellow dutch door (our parents), and I always thought, “Gosh where has the time gone!?” My favorite days were the rainy ones, because there’s a certain blanket of quiet that comes with a soft rain, closing off homes and buildings from the outside world in a cloak of grey blue pitter-patters. Always there was the positive atmosphere and the abundance of materials all organized and right at my fingertips. I remember going outside barefoot onto the paint splattered deck to wash brushes and pallets and jars, and looking out into the quiet redwoods. But most of all I just remember how lovely it was to be there.

I’ve been going to The Art Factory classes for years, but I’m so busy now that I’ve had to take a break. Yesterday we visited the studio for a little afternoon crafting for Valentine’s Day (more on that next week). I was overwhelmed because there were so many things I wanted to do! I had valentines and envelopes to make, letters to write, my book project to work on (more on that in a second), colored papers to paw through, not to mention the urge to photograph everything! Luckily I was able to both shoot everything and get some actual projects done. Although it wasn’t raining while we were there, we’ve been lucky enough to have a bit of a drizzle on and off for the past few days, which I am very grateful for.

Last weekend I started a new project with a gorgeous old Reader’s Digest. I’m turning it in to a new journal with text as background. I like it because there are so many pages, so if I make one I don’t like it’s okay. Sometimes I can’t find something in the book so when I flip to the right page again it’s an exciting discovery! I might glue some pages together and carve them out, we’ll see.

More on my Valentine’s Day crafting next week. Have a lovely time making art, and enjoy the rain! (or snow, or sun)

2 thoughts on “The Art Factory

  1. Yes, the art factory is such a lovely place to go to. I have lots of good memories of going there (and some of them include you) and I am still making those memories. The Valentine’s Day crafts and the book project sound like fun! 🙂

  2. I too remember your enjoyment at the Art Factory. I have picked you up from there and heard about all the fun you had letting those creative juices flow. Your pics tell stories. Thanks for lovely memories.
    Love you

What do you think?

