Positivity

I can’t write at all right now. Honestly. I wrote a whole post with the name “The Sound of Silence” and then I deleted it because it really just wasn’t working for me, and now I don’t know what to do. Usually when I’m having a hard time with something I make lists. It helps me focus. Checking things off lists is really satisfying. In fact, I have a whole journal just for lists. This is a list of some of the lists in my journal of lists:

  • Fears
  • Things that should be real
  • International places I want to travel
  • Christmas cookies
  • My favorite holiday things
  • Words that I pronounce wrong
  • Things I wish I did every day
  • (Only some of the) Things that make me happy
  • Lists to make
  • News
  • To do list
  • Another to do list
  • Yet another (unfinished) to do list
  • Another to do list
  • Practical things I suck at
  • Habits to break
  • Habits to make
  • Things I want in the new year
  • Things I don’t want in the new year

You’re probably wondering why this post is called Positivity because so far it should be called Sorry This Is Not Actually a Post it’s Just a List. Or… How to Fill up a Journal 101. Or… Writer’s Block or Frustration. Or… See I Told You Not to Procrastinate. Or… something along those lines. Well I’m getting to the positivity bit. Wait a sec. It had to do with the last two lists on that list, Things I want in the new year and Things I don’t. I thought maybe I’d share those:

Things I want in the new year:

  • To work hard on fixing my handwriting
  • To keep journaling
  • To get better at this blogging thing (almost a year and a half so far and I’m absolutely not done trying to improve)
  • To work more efficiently
  • To learn how to be a better photographer
  • To learn how to improve my compost pile (I’m serious)
  • To wash dishes more often (still serious. I actually like it)
  • To be nicer to my brother
  • More POSITIVITY!
  • That means being more patient with myself
  • And other people
  • And the compost pile
  • And also the chickens… but I’d like to get them to get along better
  • To try being vegetarian some time (maybe it’ll make the chickens happy)
  • To climb trees more often
  • To go on more walks at sundown
  • To be barefoot more often
  • To drink a LOT more water
  • To keep saving the rainforest and orangutans
  • To eat good food (but that goes without saying)
  • To make people happy
  • To be in the wilderness as much as possible
  • To drink tea more often

Things I don’t want in the new year:

  • Actually since this is called Positivity I’ve decided I’m just going to stick with the positive list
  • And for the same reason I’ll re-state one of the things from that list:
  • Positivity
2 thoughts on “Positivity

  1. I empathize and am a list maker. One of the best things about lists is striking off a done item! Yes, sometimes lists make more lists, or subdivisions of lists. Then there can be more done, accomplished from those lists. How could we organize without lists??????

    Love you

What do you think?

