Cartography

P1060151

I could tell you a really complicated story involving rules of Google Science Fair… copyrights, opensource images… hatchets.. felled trees…

I will spare you.

To make a long story short, for my Google Science Fair movie, I had to use only content that I had created, but I need a world map, so I made my own.

P1060098

I printed out a silhouette of a world map from the internet and used a ruler to make a grid on the map. Then I made a grid on watercolor paper to scale with the other grid. I used the boxes to help estimate where everything should go.

P1060124

I carefully erased the grid and painted the landmasses with watercolor, and when that had dried I did the water.

P1060171

Now I have my own watercolored world map! Very useful for movies.

P1060161

Borneo!

P1060185

Europe…

I’m going to Europe day after tomorrow by the way- Paris, Brussels, Lisbon, Copenhagen, Nida (Lithuania), and Bologna. Expect lots of exciting posts coming soon.

4 thoughts on “Cartography

What do you think?

