Banana Cream Pie

P1030673

One of my favorite places to go in San Fransisco is the Tartine bakery, and the best thing to get there is banana cream pie! I decided to make some. If you happen to have pastry cream, a tart shell, and caramel on hand, this would be a breeze to put together, but as I had none of these things, I took a few days. I made the tart dough on Wednesday, baked it and made the pastry cream and caramel on Thursday, and put together the whole pie on Friday. Overall, the pie turned out beautifully topped with snowy white peaks of whipped cream, scattered with chocolate curls, and dusted lightly with powdered sugar.

P1030721 P1030824 P1030642P1030865

Coating the tart shell in chocolate is great because it makes the shell stay crisp longer (the 24 hours or so it took for us to eat the whole pie!), and it tastes amazing with the caramel on top. Almost like a bite of Heath Bar. I spread the leftover melted chocolate from the pie shell on a section of our cold counter top. When the chocolate was cooled enough, we used a bench knife to scrape off curls of chocolate.

P1030993

So after covering the pie shell in chocolate and drizzling that with the homemade caramel, I spread in the pastry cream and covered that with bananas. I actually might do two layers of banana slices in the future because I like the bites of pie with banana the best.

Then I topped the pie with whipped cream, chocolate curls, and a dusting of powdered sugar.

It was such a delicious pie! I will have to make it again some day. It took some work to put all the ingredients together, but I can see how it would be easy in a bakery.

What do you think?

