Puff Pancakes

P1030715

Today I made a “puff pancake,” otherwise known as a dutch baby or german pancake. I actually wrote down this recipe when I was six or seven years old, as a variation of a recipe from one of my grandmothers. I’ve used this recipe ever since, though sometimes I change it a little. I have found it to be a very flexible recipe- you can adjust the measurements of the ingredients with a slight variation to the outcome but no matter how you make it, it always turns out well. This must have been why it was one of my favorite breakfasts to make when I was that little. This is my original recipe card:

P1030732 P1030731

The funny thing is that I wrote the directions in such a confusing way, I used to sometimes mess up the recipe if I hadn’t made it for a while and was relying too much on my directions. “Pour all dry ingredients into a bowl crack eggs and pour in milk” are not the most specific instructions. In addition, my crazy six year old mind said to melt 1/2 stick butter in the pan… 1/2 stick butter?? So, in case anyone who happens to read this might want to try out my recipe, I have conveniently rewritten it here with a few changes:

Puff Pancake
Servings: 2-4

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • a pinch or so of salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2-3 eggs*
  • about 2 Tablespoons butter (I always use salted, but if you want you can use unsalted)

*I have made this with 2 eggs and 3 eggs, both successfully. Obviously 3 eggs makes it more “eggy,” and it puffs more too. It’s up to you how many eggs to add though.

  1. Preheat oven to about 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt together in a medium bowl.
  3. Crack the eggs into a separate, smaller bowl and whisk in the milk.
  4. Now put the butter in a large, heavy skillet and melt the butter either in the oven or on the stove top.
  5. Meanwhile, pour the egg mixture into the dry ingredients and whisk together until no lumps remain.
  6. As soon as the butter is melted, dump the batter into the skillet. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden and puffed.

P1030711

Serve immediately, because it will deflate quickly! We like it with with powdered sugar and lemon or maple syrup. Some berries are a nice touch too.

P1030722

3 thoughts on “Puff Pancakes

What do you think?

